Solicitation
Shroud, Segment, Turb
Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency · Sol. SPRTA1-26-Q-1166
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, Tinker AFB) wants to buy a turbine shroud segment, a titanium aircraft engine part (NSN 2840-01-312-2267, part number 4076826-02), from a small business. It is a flight-safety part that needs first article testing and an approved manufacturing source, with deliveries to Tinker AFB, Oklahoma from October 2027 to August 2028. Quotes are due 16 October 2026, 4:00 PM Central.
Watch out for
- Source approval needed before award. This is a critical safety engine part and the offeror must already be an approved source; the Government says award will not normally be held for a vendor to finish qualifying, and approval requires a detailed source approval package reviewed by the Air Force.
Unless determined to be in the Government's interest, award of this contract shall not be delayed to
- First article testing at your cost and risk. You pay for all first article tests and re-tests if the Government disapproves, and you buy materials or start production on the rest at your own risk until the first article is approved.
All costs related to these tests are to be borne by the Contractor, including any and all
- Production before first article approval is at your risk. Costs spent on the production quantity before approval cannot be billed through progress payments or recovered in a termination for convenience.
balance of the contract quantity is at the sole risk of the Contractor.
- Controlled drawings require certification first. You cannot see the drawings or engineering data (and so cannot price accurately) until your export-control certification is approved.
certified in order to receive and view the drawings for this solicitation.
- Late delivery offers are rejected. Delivery dates are fixed in monthly lots from October 2027, and a proposed delivery that does not clearly fall within the required period makes the offer nonresponsive.
will be considered nonresponsive and rejected.
- Possible request for cost data. If competition is thin, the Government can require detailed cost or pricing data within 14 days of asking.
of proposals it is determined that adequate price competition does not exist; cost or pricing data shall be required
- Price hold period is inconsistent. The form's default hold time is 60 days while the solicitation text says 120 days; quote 120 days to be safe.
Subject to the terms and conditions stated herein, the Contractor agrees to hold its offered prices firm for 120 days.
Full brief
What they want
- Manufacture the SHROUD SEGMENT, TURB (titanium alloy, new manufacture; surplus is not allowed) to the Government's drawings
- Production quantity of about 41 units under Bid A (with first article testing) or about 43 units under Bid B (no first article), delivered monthly from 31 Oct 2027 to 31 Aug 2028
- First article testing under Bid A: a test plan, a test report, 1 destructive exhibit and 2 non-destructive exhibits
- Deliver data under a contract data requirements list (DD Form 1423): first article test plan and test report
- Permanent item unique identification (IUID) marking on delivered parts
- Quality system per ISO 9001 and keep supply chain traceability records
- Ship to DLA Distribution Depot Oklahoma, Tinker AFB, OK (FOB origin, Government inspects at origin and accepts at origin or destination as the line shows)
- Contract type
- Firm fixed price (Request for Quotations; two bid alternatives, Bid A with first article and Bid B without)
- Period of performance
- First article test plan due 30 days after award and test report 120 days after award (Bid A); production deliveries on or before 31 Oct 2027 through 31 Aug 2028
- Place of performance
- Not stated in the notice field; ship-to is DLA Distribution Depot Oklahoma, Tinker AFB, OK, and work is done at the contractor's facility
- Offers due
- 2026-10-16 4:00 PM Central time (CDT, -05:00); the notice says the date was extended from 25 Sep 2026
- How to submit
- Not stated in the text provided (the section on instructions to offerors was cut off). Buyer contact is Jayson Skalla, DLA Weapons Support at Oklahoma City, 3001 Staff Drive, Tinker AFB OK 73145-3070, jayson.skalla@us.af.mil
What to include when you submit
- Annotate your proposed delivery dates under each delivery line if you offer earlier than required; offers that clearly miss the required delivery period are rejected
- Price both alternatives as laid out in the schedule (Bid A with first article, Bid B without), including the quantity-range price breaks
- Fill in the contractor fill-in blanks for inspection and F.O.B. address
- Hold prices firm for 120 days (the form's default is 60 days)
- Complete representations and certifications in SAM (small business size under NAICS 336412)
- Engineering data is only released to contractors with an approved DD Form 2345 or Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification
- A first article waiver may be requested if you have already delivered identical or similar items that the Government accepted
You must have
- Total small business set-aside (NAICS 336412, size standard 1,500 employees; a company offering an item it did not make itself must meet a 500 employee size standard)
THIS IS A TOTAL SMALL BUSINESS SET-ASIDE.
- Be an approved (qualified) source for this part before award, through the Air Force Source Approval Request process in the MQR-PSD-1 document (company profile with ISO 9001 or AS9100, DD Form 2345, quality history, manufacturing plan, similar part history and more)
One or more qualification requirements apply to the supplies or services covered by this contract.
- Critical safety item rule: only a source approved by the design control activity may be used, including subcontractors
The contractor procuring, modifying, repairing, or overhauling a critical safety item shall only use a source approved by
- Export-controlled certification (DD Form 2345 or JCP) to receive the drawings and engineering data
certified in order to receive and view the drawings for this solicitation.
- Quality assurance certificate with a valid expiration date (ISO 9001, AS9100 or NATO AQAP-2070) for the company profile, and an ISO 9001 higher-level quality requirement in the contract
7.2.1. Provide one of the following QAC with a valid expiration date: ISO 9001, AS9100,
- Active SAM registration; supply chain traceability records for the part kept for ten years; limitation on subcontracting (no more than 50 percent paid to non-similarly situated subcontractors, excluding materials)
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The part number 4076826-02 is listed against two manufacturer CAGE codes (2T575 and 51992), which are the existing approved part sources, but the text does not say who last supplied it.
Not in the notice text
- How to submit the quote and the exact evaluation basis (about 74,000 characters in the middle of the solicitation, likely including instructions to offerors and evaluation factors, were not included)
- Whether the Government will award on lowest price, best value, or by choosing between Bid A and Bid B
- Quantity-range price break structure and which quantities apply to each range
- Estimated contract value (not stated)
- Engineering drawings and specifications (only released to export-control certified vendors)
- Packaging, transportation and IUID details in separate attachments (Packaging, Transportation, IUID checklist) that were not provided
- Whether a first article waiver would be granted for a company with prior similar deliveries
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 16, 2026, 9:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 25, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- SPRTA1-26-Q-1166
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, Ok
- Set-aside
- Small Business Set Aside - Total
- NAICS
- 336412
- Product/service code
- 2840
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts
- Contracting contact
- Jayson Skallajayson.skalla@us.af.mil4457370625
- Versions
- 4 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Housing, ProportionerDLA Land and Maritime plans a firm-fixed-price RFP for 171 Housings, Proportioner (NSN 2915-012681594), as a single contract with direct delivery.
- 05F | C/KC-135 | COUPLING, FLEXIBLEThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation) plans an unrestricted, 3-year indefinite quantity contract for a flexible coupling (insulation blanket) used on C/KC-135 aircraft,…
- RCU - KGX- 40A,AIRC, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source buy tied to NSN 7R-1680-015855376-P8, quantity 2 each, delivered FOB origin.
- 05F | C/KC 135 | TRANSDUCER, FUEL CONTROLDLA Aviation plans an unrestricted indefinite quantity contract for fuel control transducers (NSN 2915-011955293) for C/KC-135 aircraft, about 80 per year over a 2-year base with…
- Disconnect Assembly LowerDLA Land and Maritime plans a single firm-fixed-price contract for Disconnect Assembly Lower (NSN 1660010350628), with an estimated 79 to 150 each and no options.