Solicitation
Support, Seal, Aircraft (1C)
Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency · Sol. SPRTA126R1157
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma) wants to buy about 58 nickel-alloy aircraft seal supports (NSN 2840-01-267-1558, part 4069178) used in the F100 jet engine. It is a firm-fixed-price, unrestricted competition (no small business set-aside), with delivery due by 26 April 2027 to the DLA depot at Tinker AFB. Only approved sources can win, and a first article test may be required, so this is a hard buy for new manufacturers.
Watch out for
- Must be an approved source before award. A small business that has not already been approved by the Air Force engineering office cannot win, and the approval package (company profile, production plans, proof of a recent similar part) is heavy and can take months.
To be eligible for contract award, offerors must be approved sources, in accordance with the
- Critical safety item for an engine. A failure could harm aircraft safety, so quality, traceability and inspection standards are strict and defects can mean default.
This is a critical part used in the F100 series turbine engine.
- First article testing at contractor's risk. If first article is required, you build and test three units (one destroyed) at your own cost, and materials bought before approval are at your sole risk.
Before first article approval, the acquisition of materials or components for, or the commencement of production
- Default if first article fails. Late or disapproved first article test reports are treated as a failure to deliver, which can lead to termination for default.
If the Contractor fails to deliver any first article report on time, or the Contracting Officer disapproves any first
- Export-controlled data and tight cybersecurity rules. You need export-control authorization to see the drawings, and the contract carries CMMC, NIST 800-171 and controlled-data clauses that can be costly for a small shop.
Due to export control restrictions, the Engineering Data List (EDL)
- Quantity is uncertain and the maximum is inconsistent. Current need is 58 units but may change; the note says a maximum of 89 while the line items say 87, so confirm before pricing quantity ranges.
based on the minimum quantity of 15 each and the maximum quantity of 89 each.
- Costs of repeat testing are yours. If the first article is disapproved, repeated tests and fixes are paid by the contractor.
Contractor, including any and all costs for additional tests following a disapproval.
- Unrestricted competition. No small business set-aside, so you compete directly against larger manufacturers.
Full brief
What they want
- Manufacture and deliver the SUPPORT, SEAL, AIRCRAFT (NSN 2840-01-267-1558, part 4069178), a critical safety item that supports the #2 bearing in the engine core bearing housing
- Estimated 58 each, with a quantity range of 15 minimum to 87 maximum; offerors must submit quantity-range pricing
- Bid A (first article required): first article test plan, test report, 1 destructive and 2 non-destructive test units, then production
- Bid B (no first article): production units only. Quote only one of the two bids; do not quote both
- Meet ISO 9001-2015 quality requirements, item unique identification (IUID) marking, and the LPF-QAR-003 first article test requirements
- Ship from origin and submit receiving reports and invoices through Wide Area Workflow (WAWF)
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price supply contract (negotiated RFP, DPAS rated order)
- Period of performance
- Delivery of production units on or before 26 APR 2027. If first article is required: test plan 30 days after award, test report and first article units within 120 days after the Government approves the test plan (plan approval estimated at 45 days).
- Place of performance
- Contractor's own facility; first article items ship in place. Production ships to DLA Distribution Depot Oklahoma, Tinker AFB, OK. First article test documents go to AFLCMC/LZPED at Tinker AFB.
- How they'll choose
- Not stated in the text provided. The Government may accept Bid A (first article required) or Bid B (not required), whichever is most advantageous considering price and other factors. Sections L and M hold the evaluation details but were left out.
- Offers due
- 15-OCT-2026, 3:00 PM (the form gives no time zone; SAM.gov lists 2026-10-15T15:00-05:00)
- How to submit
- Offers go to the issuing office: DLA Weapons Support at Oklahoma City, DLR Procurement Operations (AO), 3001 Staff Drive, Tinker AFB OK 73145, attn: Rhonda Griffin. Whether electronic submission is accepted is not stated in the text provided.
What to include when you submit
- Price each line item individually or clearly state ZERO DOLLAR CHARGE
- Quote either Bid A or Bid B, not both
- Submit quantity ranges that give the best prices, between the minimum of 15 and the maximum quantity
- Hold offered prices firm for 120 days
- Fill in the contractor fill-in blocks (inspection and acceptance location, F.O.B. address)
- Submit a Source Approval Request (SAR) as early as possible if not already an approved source; the Government will not necessarily delay award for it
- Complete the annual representations and certifications in SAM (52.204-8) and the other Section K forms
- Sections L (instructions) and M (evaluation) were not in the text provided, so other required items may exist
You must have
- Must already be an approved source for this part (qualification requirement) at time of award, through the Air Force Source Approval Request process under MQR-PSD-1
To be eligible for contract award, offerors must be approved sources, in accordance with the
- Government may award without waiting for pending source approval requests
Note that the Government is not required to delay the contract
- Need access to export-controlled drawings: the drawings and engineering data list can be viewed only by authorized vendors through a secure link on SAM.gov, and technical data requests need an approved DD Form 2345 or export control license
Due to export control restrictions, the Engineering Data List (EDL)
- Within the U.S. or Canada, a current DD Form 2345 (export-controlled data authorization) is also part of the company profile
Requests should be made on company letterhead along with an approved DD Form
- Valid quality certificate (ISO 9001, AS9100 or NATO AQAP-2070) is part of the source approval company profile; the contract also calls for the ISO 9001-2015 quality standard
Provide one of the following QAC with a valid expiration date: ISO 9001, AS9100,
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) clause is included; the required level is blank in the text provided and must be confirmed
Have and maintain for the duration of the contract a current CMMC status at the following CMMC
- Item is a rated order under the Defense Priorities and Allocations System, so the contractor must follow priority rules
This Contract is a Rated Order under the Defense Priorities and
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The text mentions Pratt & Whitney only as the prime contractor for whom first article testing is waived.
Not in the notice text
- How offers are evaluated and the factors in order of importance: Sections L (instructions) and M (evaluation) were in the part of the solicitation that was left out
- How offers must be submitted (email, DIBBS, mail) and any required forms or page limits
- Whether the contract has a Bid A or Bid B award preference, and how price and other factors are weighed
- Required CMMC level, cybersecurity and packaging requirements (AFMC 158), CDRL deliverables and LPF-QAR-003 details
- Estimated contract value (unit prices are blank in the schedule)
- Whether a company that is not yet approved, or has not made the part within the last three years, can realistically qualify before award
- Contents of the engineering drawings and specifications, which are export-controlled and not in the text provided
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 15, 2026, 8:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- SPRTA126R1157
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, Ok
- NAICS
- 336412
- Product/service code
- 2840
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts
- Contracting contact
- Rhonda Griffinrhonda.griffin.1@us.af.mil4457372449
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Housing, ProportionerDLA Land and Maritime plans a firm-fixed-price RFP for 171 Housings, Proportioner (NSN 2915-012681594), as a single contract with direct delivery.
- 05F | C/KC-135 | COUPLING, FLEXIBLEThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation) plans an unrestricted, 3-year indefinite quantity contract for a flexible coupling (insulation blanket) used on C/KC-135 aircraft,…
- RCU - KGX- 40A,AIRC, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source buy tied to NSN 7R-1680-015855376-P8, quantity 2 each, delivered FOB origin.
- 05F | C/KC 135 | TRANSDUCER, FUEL CONTROLDLA Aviation plans an unrestricted indefinite quantity contract for fuel control transducers (NSN 2915-011955293) for C/KC-135 aircraft, about 80 per year over a 2-year base with…
- Disconnect Assembly LowerDLA Land and Maritime plans a single firm-fixed-price contract for Disconnect Assembly Lower (NSN 1660010350628), with an estimated 79 to 150 each and no options.