Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Electrophoresis Testing for the Albany, Buffalo, and Syracuse VA Medical Centers
Department of Veterans Affairs · Sol. 36C24226Q0949
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The VA Network Contracting Office 2 wants one vendor to supply electrophoresis lab testing (SPEP, UPEP, IFE and CSF/Oligoclonal) at the Albany, Buffalo and Syracuse, NY VA Medical Centers on a cost-per-test basis. The vendor provides an analyzer at each site plus all reagents, supplies, middleware, service and training, with a single firm-fixed-price IDIQ contract expected to run five years from about November 1, 2026. This is an unrestricted (full and open) RFQ, and quotes are due October 13, 2026 at 12:00 PM Eastern.
Watch out for
- Single award, all three sites, no subcontracting. One vendor must serve all three VA labs and do 100% of the work itself, so a small business needs its own equipment, service staff and lab-instrument capability.
responsible for executing 100% of the awarded IDIQ
- You supply and own the equipment under a per-test price. The per-test price must cover five years of analyzers, reagents, service, middleware, printers, training and removal, so the vendor carries the up-front cost and volume risk.
Five-year equipment use.
- Volumes are estimates; small guaranteed minimum. Only $10,000 is guaranteed and test counts are best estimates, which makes it hard to recover equipment costs if volume drops.
The Guaranteed Minimum amount is $10,000.00
- Tight 90-day implementation with termination risk. Installation, training and validation at three sites must finish within 90 days of award, and missing it can end the contract.
Failure of the Contractor to conform to the transition period shall be considered as sufficient cause to terminate the awarded contract.
- Strict performance and delivery standards. Orders must arrive within 10 days, emergency supplies within 24 hours, and each instrument must stay at 90% monthly uptime with a 30-day acceptance run.
Delivery is required within ten days after receipt of Order for all Delivery Orders
- Heavy VA IT and cybersecurity requirements. Each lab needs its own middleware server, a Data Innovations/Vista interface, VA security forms and equipment that works with VA network rules, which can be costly to meet.
Each of the three Laboratories requires its own Middleware Server.
- Veteran-owned firms get price credits. SDVOSB and VOSB bidders get 10% and 5% price credits, and non-veteran firms get smaller credits only by using verified veteran subcontractors, which can disadvantage other bidders on price.
Verified VOSBs will receive a 5% price credit
- Small errors and inconsistencies in the documents. The notice says 5 years but the price schedule shows a base year plus four options, the response time is written both as 12:00PM EST and EDT, and the SOW wants Windows 10 compatibility while VA Appendix A bars unsupported operating systems.
Quotes shall be submitted no later than 12:00PM EST on
- Hazardous waste documentation required. The quote must include waste characterization and test data (metals, pH, flash point, BOD and more) for the equipment and reagents, which takes manufacturer cooperation.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments.
- 36C24226Q0949 0001.docx
- 36C24226Q0949.pdf
- 36C24226Q0949_1.docx
- Attachment 0002 - Manufacturer Disclosure Statement for Medical Device Security.pdf
- Attachment 0001 - VA Directive 6550 Appendix A.pdf
Full brief
What they want
- Provide cost-per-test electrophoresis testing (SPEP, UPEP, IFE, CSF/Oligoclonal), about 5,100 tests per year across all three labs
- Install one FDA-approved, fully automated agarose gel electrophoresis analyzer at each of the three VA sites, and remove them at contract end
- Supply all reagents, calibrators, controls, consumables, printers and ancillary equipment included in the per-test price
- Provide a middleware server for each lab with a two-way barcode interface compatible with Data Innovations and the VA's Vista system
- Maintain and repair equipment (24/7 phone support, onsite service weekdays 8-5, emergency service within 24 hours) with 90% uptime
- Complete installation, validation studies and staff training within 90 days of award
- Deliver orders within 10 days and emergency supplies within 24 hours when needed
- Submit the VA Directive 6550 Appendix A and the Manufacturer Disclosure Statement for Medical Device Security with the quote
- Contract type
- Single-award firm-fixed-price IDIQ (cost per test); Request for Quote under FAR Part 12 commercial procedures
- Period of performance
- Five years, tentatively November 1, 2026 to October 31, 2031 (price schedule shows a base year plus four option years); the contract is reviewed annually and can be ended with 30 days notice for unsatisfactory performance
- Place of performance
- Albany VA Medical Center (113 Holland Ave, Albany NY), Buffalo VA Medical Center (3495 Bailey Ave, Buffalo NY), Syracuse VA Medical Center (800 Irving Ave, Syracuse NY)
- Contract vehicle
- None (full and open RFQ); IDIQ with a guaranteed minimum of $10,000 and estimated 5,100 tests per year, not guaranteed
- How they'll choose
- Comparative evaluation under FAR 12.203(c)(2) where quotes are compared to one another to find the best benefit; the Government may pay more than the lowest price
- Offers due
- October 13, 2026 at 12:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to Contracting Officer Jonathan Kilgore at jonathan.kilgore@va.gov (telephone calls not accepted)
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical or Quality (nine listed technical requirements, answered in a separate document)
- Past Performance
- Veterans Involvement (price credits for SDVOSB and VOSB firms or their subcontractors)
- Price (total of all line items including options)
What to include when you submit
- Include solicitation number, offeror name, address and phone, UEI, and a statement of agreement with all terms and any exceptions in writing
- Provide pricing for each individual test (CLINs by site) and a cumulative total price for each contract year, including option years
- Technical Capabilities responses go in a separate document and must explain how you meet each requirement, not just repeat the SOW
- Include a 90-day implementation plan for installing equipment at all three laboratories
- Include completed VA Directive 6550 Appendix A (Attachment 0001) and Manufacturer Disclosure Statement for Medical Device Security (Attachment 0002)
- Provide documentation characterizing hazardous waste from the equipment and reagents (SOW 2.4.7.8), included with the vendor response
- List any SDVOSB/VOSB subcontractors with a short description and dollar values to claim veterans involvement credit
- Hold prices firm for 60 calendar days; return the representations and certifications required by the listed provisions; list non-U.S.-made end products if any
You must have
- Unrestricted competition; no set-aside, with NAICS 334516 and a 1,000 employee size standard
This solicitation is issued Unrestricted, allowing for Full and Open Competition.
- Analyzer must be a fully automated, FDA-approved system on the market at least one year that performs SPEP, UPEP, IFE and CSF/Oligoclonal
A fully automated analysis system that is FDA approved and has been on the market for at least one year
- Contractor must perform all the work itself; subcontracting is not authorized
subcontracting is not authorized
- Equipment must be new, current production models (remanufactured or discontinued models are not acceptable)
Discontinued models that are only being made available as remanufactured equipment are not acceptable.
- Completed VA Directive 6550 Appendix A and Manufacturer Disclosure Statement must be submitted with the quote
must be completely filled out and submitted with your proposal
- Offered end products must be U.S.-made or designated country end products under the Trade Agreements Act
The Government will consider for award only offers of U.S.-made or designated country end products
- SDVOSB/VOSB credit requires verification in SBA's Small Business Search database at quote submission and award
Verified SDVOSBs will receive a 10% price credit
Not in the notice text
- Estimated total contract value is not stated (only 5,100 tests per year and a $10,000 guaranteed minimum)
- Part of the solicitation (about 56,000 characters in the middle, including the rest of the price schedule and Section C contract clauses such as order limits and option terms) was not provided
- Relative importance of the four evaluation factors is not stated
- Any page limit for the technical or past performance volumes is not stated
- How past performance information must be submitted is not specified in the text provided
- Whether there is an incumbent vendor (the SOW refers to a 'current analyzer' without naming one)
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 13, 2026, 4:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 29, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Solicitation
- 36C24226Q0949
- Agency
- Department of Veterans Affairs
- Office
- 242-Network Contract Office 02 (36C242)
- NAICS
- 334516
- Product/service code
- 6640
- Business type
- Electrical & electronic components
- Contracting contact
- Jonathan Kilgorejonathan.kilgore@va.govTelephone calls not accepted
- Versions
- 2 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- RECEIVER-TRANSMITTE, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source repair or modification of one receiver-transmitter unit.
- CIRCUIT BREAKERNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source purchase of 3 circuit breakers.
- POWER INPUT CABLENAVSUP Weapon Systems Support plans a sole source purchase of 5 power input cables (NSN 1R-5995-016912189-BL, reference 4222AS0166-01), delivered FOB Origin.
- CIRCUIT CARD ASSEMB, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support plans a sole-source repair of 14 circuit card assemblies (NSN 7R-5998-016779794-CC), delivered FOB Origin.
- TEST KIT, HPThe Navy (NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support, Mechanicsburg) plans to buy 3 test kits (NSN 7H-6685-017081470-X5) manufactured to a technical data package.