Solicitation
Cover Transmission
Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency · Sol. SPRDL126RA034
Due in 27 daysSmall business
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Land Warren) wants to buy 38 transmission covers (NSN 2520-01-073-7693, manufacturer part number 12267837, CAGE 19207) from a small business, with an option for 38 more. It is a firm-fixed-price supply buy: delivery to a depot in Anniston, Alabama is due within 240 days of award, and the Government inspects the parts at the contractor's plant before they ship.
Watch out for
- Export-controlled drawings need a long certification. You may need a DD 2345 certification through the Joint Certification Program to see the drawings, and that takes 6 to 10 weeks while the response deadline is only about 30 days after posting.
Processing time is estimated at six (6) to ten (10) weeks after receipt.
- All or none, single award. You must quote the full quantity of every item; a partial quote cannot win.
Offers in response to this solicitation must be submitted for the total quantity of the items identified
- Government inspection at your plant before shipping. You must book a DCMA inspection before you ship, or the parts are rejected and returned at your cost.
Inspection/Acceptance at origin means that you MUST contact the DCMA
- Manufacturing-grade quality and testing rules. An ISO 9001:2015 or equivalent quality system, MIL-STD-1916 sampling (VL IV major, VL II minor), a certificate of conformance, and engineering-drawing fit are all required; this is hard for a small shop without these in place.
ISO 9001:2015 or equivalent
- Subcontracting limit and nonmanufacturer rule. Reselling parts made by a large company is restricted; at most 50 percent of the price (excluding materials) can go to non-similarly-situated subcontractors.
52.219-33 Nonmanufacturer Rule.
- Rated order with fixed delivery and contractor-paid freight. A DO-rated defense order means you must prioritize it; delivery is due 240 days after award FOB destination, so you pay and carry the shipping risk.
CLIN0001AA 38each 240 days after award
- Military packaging, marking and item ID. Military preservation and Level B packing to a Special Packaging Instruction, MIL-STD-129 labels, wood packaging heat treatment and DoD unique item identification add cost and compliance work; a prototype package is required.
(2) LEVEL OF PACKING: B
- Domestic-source restrictions listed. Several DFARS Buy American and specialty metals restrictions are listed by reference (titles only in the text provided), so check where your materials and parts come from.
- Late offers are not accepted. Offers go by email and must reach the Government's system by the exact deadline; large files can be slow, so send early.
the proposal/quote was not received at the initial point of entry to the Government infrastructure by
Full brief
What they want
- Supply 38 each of COVER, TRANSMISSION to the Government's technical drawings (Technical Data Package) for part 12267837
- Price an option for 38 more units, which the Government may exercise later (all or part)
- Deliver FOB destination to DLA Distribution Anniston, AL within 240 days after award (contractor pays shipping)
- Arrange Government source inspection (through DCMA) at the contractor's facility before shipping
- Military preservation, Level B packing, and military shipping labels per Special Packaging Instruction AK10737693 Rev D
- Mark items with DoD unique item identification (or an equivalent) per DFARS 252.211-7003
- Keep supply chain traceability records if you are not the manufacturer, and use an ISO 9001:2015-equivalent quality system
- Quote all items: the offer must cover the full quantity
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price supply contract (base line CLIN 0001 plus option CLIN 0002); rated order under the Defense Priorities and Allocations System (DO rating)
- Period of performance
- Base: 38 each delivered within 240 days after award. Option: another 38 each, which the Government may order within 365 days after award (or after first article approval, if one is required); the option period could be extended up to 90 days by agreement.
- Place of performance
- Not listed in the notice. Inspection and acceptance happen at the contractor's facility (origin). Base quantity ships FOB destination to DLA Distribution Anniston, 7 Frankford Ave, Anniston, AL 36201 (option delivery location is stated as unknown).
- How they'll choose
- Award to the lowest evaluated offer if price only, or best value if other factors are named. No factors other than price are named in the text provided. The price of the full option quantity is included in the evaluation.
- Offers due
- 2026-11-05T13:00:00-05:00 (as listed in the notice; 1:00 PM Eastern)
- How to submit
- Email to the Contract Specialist named on the solicitation cover page (the contact name and email are blank in the text provided). Subject line format: Proposal Submission - SPRDL1-XX-X-XXXX (company name). PDF preferred.
What they'll judge offers on
- Price, evaluated including 100% of the option quantity
- Offer meets all material requirements of the solicitation
- Offeror is responsible under FAR 9.104 (possible pre-award survey of the plant)
What to include when you submit
- Offer must be for the total quantity of all items; offers for less are ineligible
- Cost or pricing part of the proposal must be formatted in Excel
- Fill in the inspection point and acceptance point (name, address, CAGE) of the facility where items will be inspected
- Complete the representations and certifications (SAM annual reps and certs, Buy American and Trade Agreements certificates, place of manufacture)
- Describe your quality system unless it is ISO 9001 or a comparable standard
- Include a list of authorized negotiators
- Optional: propose an accelerated delivery schedule at no extra cost
- Request access to the Technical Data Package through SAM.gov; an electronic read-receipt is recommended for the email
You must have
- Small business (total small business set-aside under NAICS 336350)
This Procurement is a Total Small Business Set-Aside.
- Active SAM registration to receive an award
(b) In order to be eligible to receive an award under this solicitation, the successful Offeror must be
- Current DD 2345 (Militarily Critical Technical Data Agreement) through the Joint Certification Program to get export-controlled drawings; one registered Data Custodian per company
must have a current DD 2345, Militarily Critical
- Quality system at ISO 9001:2015 or equivalent (higher-level contract quality requirement); describe your system if not a recognized standard
ISO 9001:2015 or equivalent
- Limit on subcontracting: for supplies, do not pay more than 50 percent (excluding materials) to subcontractors that are not similarly situated small businesses; nonmanufacturer rule clause also included (its text is not in the portion provided)
52.219-33 Nonmanufacturer Rule.
- If not the manufacturer, keep supply chain traceability documentation showing the item is from an approved manufacturer, for ten years after final payment
traceability documentation for ten years after final payment under this contract for audit and
- Meet the responsibility standards in FAR 9.104 (financial, technical, production capability); Government may do a plant visit and wants data within 7 days of request
(3) meets all the responsibility criteria at FAR 9.104.
Not in the notice text
- Estimated contract value or any price range (not stated)
- Technical Data Package (drawings, specifications, and revisions) is a separate controlled download on SAM.gov and was not in the text provided
- Special Packaging Instruction AK10737693 Rev D contents are not in the text provided
- Contract Specialist name, phone and email (cover page fields are blank in the text provided)
- Whether a first article test is required (the first article delivery schedule table is blank)
- Delivery location for the option quantity (stated as unknown)
- Place of manufacture or performance is not stated in the notice
- About 29,000 characters in the middle of the solicitation (part of the clauses section and any attachment list) were not provided, so some clauses and the FAR 52.217-5 option evaluation text are not seen
- Whether the Government has a list of approved sources or manufacturers beyond the part number and CAGE shown
Is this a fit for your business?
Create a free accountFedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Nov 5, 2026, 6:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Oct 6, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- SPRDL126RA034
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
- Office
- DLA Land Warren
- Set-aside
- Small Business Set Aside - Total
- NAICS
- 336350
- Product/service code
- 2520
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts
- Contracting contact
- Angela Saundersangela.saunders@dla.mil5862301017
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Cover, Transmission 38 Each/ 100% Option NSN: 2520-01-073-7693 Part Number: 12267837/19207 FOB: Destination Inspection Point: Orign/ Origin; Packaging: Military B
Similar open opportunities
- Housing, ProportionerDLA Land and Maritime plans a firm-fixed-price RFP for 171 Housings, Proportioner (NSN 2915-012681594), as a single contract with direct delivery.
- 05F | C/KC-135 | COUPLING, FLEXIBLEThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation) plans an unrestricted, 3-year indefinite quantity contract for a flexible coupling (insulation blanket) used on C/KC-135 aircraft,…
- RCU - KGX- 40A,AIRC, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source buy tied to NSN 7R-1680-015855376-P8, quantity 2 each, delivered FOB origin.
- 05F | C/KC 135 | TRANSDUCER, FUEL CONTROLDLA Aviation plans an unrestricted indefinite quantity contract for fuel control transducers (NSN 2915-011955293) for C/KC-135 aircraft, about 80 per year over a 2-year base with…
- Disconnect Assembly LowerDLA Land and Maritime plans a single firm-fixed-price contract for Disconnect Assembly Lower (NSN 1660010350628), with an estimated 79 to 150 each and no options.